2014 Calendar of Events

Capital City Sailing Association is located in Jefferson City, Missouri. The primary goal of CCSA is to promote the art of sailing and provide friendly completion as a means to enhance learning. CCSA functions are held throughout the year. Sailing events are an important part of our sailing community as we try to have something for everyone to enjoy.
Included in our calendar are events offered by our neighboring Ozark Sailing Club located at Lake of the Ozarks. Our intent is to work in cooperation with OYC in promoting sailing and sailing opportunities.

2014 Sailing Events:

Jan 18 CCSA Winter Social & Awards at the Rudder’s Home

Jan 23 – 26 Chicago Strictly Sail Event

March 15 2014 CCSA Business Meeting – 9AM Central Motor Bank – 110 Miller Street – Jefferson City. MO

Tue 3/25/14 to Thu 3/27/14 – OYC SAILING SCHOOL: ASA 101 Basic Keelboat Sailing this 3-day course designed to provide maximum value through multiple brief technical class room sessions interspersed with extensive on-the-water practices using both wheel and till-steered keel boats, as well as assorted dinghies for single-handed experiences.

Sat 3/29/14 Ozark Sailing Club Spring Race #1 – Plats Opener

Sat 4/12/14 Ozark Sailing Club – Spring Race #2 – Commodore’s Cup

Sat 4/26/14 CCSA Opening – Clean and Rig Boats setup facilities
Sat 4/26/14 Ozark Sailing Club – Spring Race #3

Sat 5/3/14 CCSA Spring Race Series Race #1
Wed 5/7/14 to Fri 5/9/14 SAILING SCHOOL: ASA 103 Basic Coastal Cruising & ASA 104 Bareboat Chartering thhs 3-day, 2-night advanced course conducted at the OYC’s professional meeting facilities and aboard one or more of its well-equipped cruising sailboats visiting several destinations along the breathtaking 1,150-mile shoreline of the Lake of The Ozarks. Course agenda will follow a combination of ASA requirements for ASA 103-Basic Coastal Cruising and ASA 104 – Bareboat Chartering.

Sat 5/10/14 Ozark Sailing Club -Cinco de Mayo Race #4

Sat 5/17/14 CCSA Spring Race Series #2

Sat 5/31/14 Ozark Sailing Club – Spring Race #5 – Lambert Trophy

Sat 6/7/14 CCSA Spring Series Race #3

Sat 6/14/14 OYC Spring Race #6

Sat 6/21/14 CCSA Spring Series Race #4

Ozark Sailing Club – Spring Race #6 Charity Regatta – Kid’s Harbor Child Advocacy Center

Sat 6/28/14 OYC Spring Dinghy Race – OYC for the Annual Dinghy Competition. Race your own dinghy or rent one from OYC for this event.
Skipper’s Meeting @ 11:00 – Race course and details provided
1st Race @ Noon – Up to 2 additional races will follow accordingly

Fri 7/4/14 Jefferson City 4th community activities includes a sailing booth

SAT 7/12/14, SAT 7/19/14, & SAT 8/2/14 CCSA Intro to Sailing – introductory 3 session series to acquaint individuals with the basics of small sailboat handling. Enrollment is limited to individuals that are skilled in swimming and 15 years old or older.

Sat 7/26/14 OSC – Fall Dinghy Race – Race your own dinghy (up to 15′) or rent one from OYC for this fun event. Where: OYC’s Princess Beach & Pavilion Skipper Meeting begins at 11 AM and the first race will follow at Noon. A total of 3 races may occur (weather permitting)

Sat 8/16/14 CCSA Fall Series Race #1

Sat 8/23/14 5th Annual OYC Dinghy ShootOut Skipper’s Meeting @ 11:00 – Race course and details provided 1st Race @ Noon – Up to 2 additional races will follow accordingly Post-race Gathering @ 3 PM – Princess Beach and Pavilion

Sat 9/6/14 CCSA Fall Series Race #2

Sat 9/13/14 Ozark Sailing Club Fall Race #1 – Commodore’s Cup

Sat 9/20/14 Mayor’s Cup Regatta – Capitol City Sailing Club – Dinghy Race

Sat 9/27/14 Ozark Sailing Club Fall Race #2 – Warrior’s Cup

Fri 10/3/14 to Sun 10/5/14 SAILING SCHOOL: OYC Sailboat Racing Workshop – 3-day workshop. Extensive discussion of racing techniques via audio-visuals interspersed with in-the-water match racing practice using both keelboats and 1-man dinghies. Topics include: Racing Rules & Scoring, Trimming The Sails, Winning The Start, Match Racing Upwind, Upwind Mark, Working The Lay Line, Match Racing Downwind, Downwind Mark, Using The Spinnaker, Approaching The Finish Line.

Sat 10/11/14 5th Annual Ozark Cup Regatta

Sat 10/18/14 CCSA Fall Series Race # 3
Sat 10/25/14 4th Annual Octoberfest Regatta – Michelob Cup

Sat 11/1/14 CCSA Fun Fall Sail – Weather Permitting

Sat 11/8/14 CCSA End of Season De-Commissioning Event
Ozark Sailing Club – Fall Race #5 – Four Seasons Cup

Join sailors from all over the mid-west for the largest sailboat Race on Lake of the Ozark’s. Call Ozark Yacht Club to register your boat or go on line and sign up at www.ozarkyachtclub.com .

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.